High Acidity Tomatoes


“Can you suggest some tomato varieties for me for both a slicing and a cherry variety?  I like a tangy, tart tomato.  I don’t care what color.  Last year a relative grew “Druzba” and I liked it a lot.  Most of the catalogs talk about how “sweet” their tomatoes are.  I really like them tart or acidic I guess with a full “old fashioned” flavor and I don’t know many varieties to try.  Thanks!

Mark”

_________________________________________________________________

Hi Mark,

Thank you for the email regard tomato acidity.  In general, tomatoes that have lower sugar are more acidic tasting and are usually heirlooms.

If you are looking for an acidic red tomato, then two of the best are Druzba and Silvery Fir Tree.

http://nogmoseedbank.files.wordpress.com/2010/05/41adfyozdgl.jpg

Druzba is a Bulgarian heirloom tomato with fruits that range from about 9-12 ounces.  The plants are stocking and not as prone to flopping over/requiring staking as other varieties (if I ever have to stake them, it is late in summer).  They are indeterminate.

Silvery Fir Tree (heirloom) would be a great choice if you are going to be growing your tomatoes in a pot or smaller space.  While it does produce earlier, the fruits are only about 6-8 ounces each.  This is a variety that I grow in my kitchen garden off the back screen porch — the foliage is very different from the regular tomato foliage and I’ve even had friends that have mixed it into their floral landscapes around their homes.  You will need to stake this one.

Another that others have told me is rather acidic is the Jolly Hybrid red cherry tomato.  I have never grown these, so I cannot speak from personal experience.  I have found though that most cherry hybrids lack the acidity because most tomato breeders are going for sweetness rather than acidity.


If you are interested, the most acidic tomato of all is the Purple Calabash.  The only place I know of off the top of my head that sells them is Territorial Seeds.  They have it regularly
(http://www.territorialseed.com/product/1623/s) or organically
(http://www.territorialseed.com/product/1206/s) grown.

I hope this information helps you out.  If you have any other questions, please feel free to ask.

 

© Mertie Mae Botanics LLC and Horticulture Talk!, 2013. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Mertie Mae Botanics LLC and Horticulture Talk! with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

One thought on “High Acidity Tomatoes

  1. I would like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing all of these great articles.I found your blog because I was looking for info on some tomato diseases and kept reading! Thank you for all the ideas. I makes me eager to have next spring come!

Leave a Reply

