Horticulture Talk on Hiatus… and Prowling for Plagiarizing Losers!


Hey Everyone,

Just wanted to let you know — some of the content on my blog may not be available during the next few days (weeks?).

I became aware today that I have an individual that is plagiarizing content from my blog — whole articles at a time. I started my blog in 2005 to see if I really *knew* things about horticulture. As a professional horticulturist, I can say stuff to people and they will believe me because of who I am. This blog was my way of seeing if people still believed my information and found me to be credible when my big professional name was removed from the picture.  I guess my advice is really good, so I should be flattered that others want to steal it.

The individual that plagiarized my content has a garlic farm in the NW USA, so you would –think– they would know enough about their crop to actually write up their own information. Pretty sad when Ms. PhD has to steal content from a little old blog like mine to make her company successful!

*insert eyeroll*

Anyway, I will be going about copyrighting all of my entries and doing some online research to see if there are other folks that have done the same. I know others have PROPERLY used the content from my blog because I get the pingbacks from them. (You know, that old habit some people use of using a web address to CITE their information that they have used.) If you see an article online that sounds like one you have read on my blog and doesn’t have me cited, let me know!

Plagiarism IS ILLEGAL and is theft of my intellectual property! I went to school for many, many years and didn’t sit for years in a dank little lab through graduate school analyzing vegetable juice samples for nothing! I have been honing my craft for over 30 years. It’s not like I don’t know what I am talking about — and if I did, I know how to cite my work and give credit where credit is due.

If you are looking for anything in particular or you have a question pop up during this time, feel free to ask. All of my entries will be back soon, so don’t fret!

*************************************************************************

© Mertie Mae Botanics LLC and Horticulture Talk!, 2013. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Mertie Mae Botanics LLC and Horticulture Talk! with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

One thought on “Horticulture Talk on Hiatus… and Prowling for Plagiarizing Losers!

  1. Hi there. Looks like I’m late to know your blog here. Don’t know what happen, but you got my support as I too building my way to become a professional horticulturist.

Leave a Reply

