Bull’s Eye: Container Rose?


“Is Bull’s Eye Rose suitable for a large container?

~Jill Rising”

________________________________________________________________

Hi Jill,

Thank you for the question regarding the Bull’s Eye Rose.  As I stated in a previous article earlier in 2014, while it is possible to grow a shrub-type rose in a pot, it is not ideal. Given that this is the second time I have been asked the same question, I am wondering if it is being sold as such by a vendor. If so, I am curious to know who!

The rule of thumb with shrub roses is that if you look at the area taken by the stems and leaves, imagine turning that upside down and putting it in the ground. That is a representation of what the network of main roots and hair roots look like below the ground.

Bull's Eye RoseI don’t want to say that it is impossible, but if it were me and my garden, I would not do it. Other roses like miniature or tea roses work much better in a large pot because they don’t have a well-developed root system.  That’s not to say that they are weaker or anything due to their roots, but more with that they are more developed and hybridized for the potential of being grown in a pot. Shrub roses are more closely related to the old-fashioned roses that grow out in the wilds with unlimited room to grow — both in terms or shoots and roots.

I hope this information helps you out. I’m sorry I don’t have a more positive answer for you, but I know how expensive roses are and I don’t want to steer you wrong and have you put a lot of work into something that likely won’t work well in the long run.

If you have any other questions, please feel free to ask.

One thought on “Bull’s Eye: Container Rose?

  1. I found the information in the Edmund’s Roses catalog. I thought it was kind of odd because shrub roses are big but thought that maybe they suggested that because Bull’s Eye was smaller or not like other shrub roses. I am sending them your article so they can update their information and not lie to their customers.

Leave a Reply

