Take our poll! What do you think?


Hey everyone!  It’s Mertie Mae here!

As a busy entrepreneur, horticulturist, gardener, office holder, wife, mommy, daughter, and some days a Jill of all trades, my life has become just a bit busier than it was when I started this blog in 2009.

Way back then, I was working for a seed company and was doing this blog as my ‘stress reliever’ – let’s just say that a lot of the things I witnessed each day went against my personal beliefs.  My boss likely meant well, but he lacked the most up-to-date information for his position and he was more concerned about making the big bucks instead of necessarily doing things in a 100% morally and physically correct way.  Throw in people in positions that really didn’t have the skill set or education to be in their position (don’t we all know people like that???), and you get me:  little overworked horticulturist that wrote blog articles by night so she could do the right thing for other gardeners.

Now it is late 2016.  A big move, leaving my job in a blaze of glory, starting my own business, getting married, and having babies has become all part of the picture now.  If/When I want to find someone that doesn’t like what I am up to, it usually involves my neighbor that drives by creeper-style to make sure I am not crossing the property line.  All said, life is good, quiet, and much more stress-free.

I know I don’t post as much as I used to – partially because I lack questions to respond to and partially because some days it just doesn’t happen.  Often times I will put up a post that I am really excited about or think everyone will love… only to have it get maybe 100 views a month (quite low ratings).  Then I put up a post that I have reservations about (“ugh, this one will be boring”) and I get over 100K views in a month. Huh?

I want to be in touch with my readers and be helping you!  The entire reason to start this was to break away from the cookie cutter horticulture pages out there that are simply a regurgitation of somebody else’s thought.  Or to break away from the product descriptions in catalogs and the paid company plants on forums that extrole the virtues of said products. Or to just give a perspective that isn’t “plant the seed and spray the chemicals and sit around all summer and you will have a beautiful garden”.

However, in order to be in touch with you, I need your help!  Below is a survey to give me some perspective for my future endeavors.  I want to be putting out content that makes you excited to stop by this page and read. In a world where most blogs are sponsored by someone and are trying to get you to buy something you don’t need, mine is straight up mine.  Tell me what you want, and I will deliver!

Click here to take the poll!

Thanks for your time and I look forward to your responses!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

